An A – That’s What I Deserve!

Throughout the course of the opinion journalism class, I feel that I have expressed my opinion to a degree that allowed my fellow classmates to understand my positions regarding an assortment of issues. Unfortunately, my intellectually superior professor feels this is not the case.

Admittedly, some of my presentation blogs were sub par. However, I feel that some of the topics posed limitations to my creative abilities. On the other hand, perhaps I should have implemented my cure for writer’s block during that period. Be that as it may, I feel that I deserve an A in this course because I, in my opinion, expressed my thoughts and positions regarding a wide range of issues respectfully and thoughtfully. My posts may not appear to be that thought provoking to some, but I think the general consensus among those who have read my posts is that they were sufficient and made my position(s) clear.

I respect my professor’s superior intellect, and I have learned a lot from this individual. It is also very satisfying to know that he did not judge me based on some of my positions regarding controversial issues. Unfortunately my opinions were not clearly stated from his point of view. Although I disagree with this assessment, I am appreciative of his constructive criticism.

Attendance in this class was not an issue for me, and I think that should be factored into my grade along with my positions regarding the issues discussed throughout the course of the semester. Now that I have made my opinion abundantly clear, I have decided to devote a portion of this blog to some first class brown-nosing.

This was by far one of my favorite classes throughout the course of my college career. Opinion journalism–that sound’s like an oxymoron, doesn’t it? That was my thought initially, but I have a new found respect for editorial writers. In order to be an effective editorial writer, you have to forget about other peoples’ perceptions of you based on your positions in print. That seems easy, but a lot of pressure can put on an individual who voices his/her stance on a controversial issue that conflicts with the majority population’s position.

One thing about my professor that was appealing to me was his implementation of the voting at the end of each Tuesday class. After the final student’s presentation, the class voted on whose presentation was the best. The winner was allowed to choose the editorial topic for the week. This was gratifying to me because I was able to choose a topic that I know some students had no desire to write about. However, it did those students some good, in my opinion. There were a few weeks when I had to write about lame topics that didn’t even remotely appeal to me, but I feel that it broadened my intellectual capabilities.

DJDoit, I appreciate everything you have taught me–not only in this class, but in intro to journalism,news reporting/writing, and online journalism. I initially thought you were a very subjective grader, and I can’t count how many times I left your class discouraged and angry after you ripped one of my stories to shreds with red ink. On the other hand, perhaps you saw something in my writing that made you feel obligated to pressure me into producing higher quality work.

At the risk of tooting my own horn, I honestly feel that I am the best AP style writer in the public relations program, and I feel that I am up there with the best writers in the journalism program. You have contributed significantly to my progression as a writer and reporter, and I can’t thank you enough for putting the pressure on me to succeed. I can’t even begin to explain how much I feel my skills have progressed since the Fall of 2008, and I appreciate you pushing me to reach my full potential. Thanks, DJDoit. I’ve enjoyed your courses, and I wish you all the best in the future.

Respectfully,

JD

Image source

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

