“The Visit” to Statesboro

I haven’t been to many plays in my life, but I can honestly say that I thoroughly enjoyed “The Visit” at Georgia Southern’s Performing Arts Center.

Prior to show time, I had heard from a number of people that the story was not all that entertaining and I would likely be asleep by the third act, but this was not the case at all. It was quite entertaining to see familiar faces immerse themselves into these characters. I felt many of the actors “owned” their parts.

The story was appealing to me because it actually related to modern day issues despite being depicted decades ago. The story makes you ask yourself, “At what point do I completely disregard my morals to make a buck?”

Actors who stood out in my opinion were Robert Meguiar and Geoff Carr. Their characters were the most believable to me, and I felt they both “owned” their parts. I’m definitely not Roger or Ebert, but I would give the play as a whole two thumbs up. It was entertaining and presented a story that anyone in today’s economy can somewhat relate to.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

