My Favorite Supervillain

I’ve never been much of a comic book reader, nor have I ever seriously gotten into superheros and supervillains, but I can only think of one supervillain if I had to make a choice of my favorite.

How can you not love the Joker? As sick and twisted as he is, he always finds a way to smile about everything. Perhaps we should take his stance to a certain extent and always look at the brighter side of things?

I was impressed with Jack Nicholson’s portrayal of the Joker in Tim Burton’s 1989 film Batman, but Heath Ledger redefined the role of the Joker in my honest opinion. It’s hard to picture anyone trying to fill those shoes because that would be one hard act to follow.

The Joker has to be without a doubt one of the coolest supervillains in comic book history. Think about it, how many people can wear a purple suit with clown makeup and green hair and still be stylin’ and profilin’?

ZERO. That’s how many. Another thing to consider about the Joker is his ruthlessness. It is not about manipulating the mob to make money. It’s about being the best criminal he can be. Not to say that I agree with his position, but I admire him for his ambition, all things considered.

In closing, I guess I will take the Joker’s advice and look at the brighter side of things. He’s a purple suit havin’, green hair sportin’, clown makeup wearin’ scumbag, but he’s the best scumbag he can be. At least he has that going for him–that and being my favorite supervillain.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

