Snoochie Boochies?

Kevin Smith is unquestionably a talented writer and director, but Mallrats was not one of his finest projects. With that said, I couldn’t help but catch myself laughing out loud at some of the foul, juvenile, yet surprisingly hilarious jokes throughout the film. “Say, would you like a chocolate covered pretzel?”

It was blatantly obvious during the opening credits that this was a vintage 90s comedy, so I factored in two scenarios: The film would be painfully horrific, or it would be painfully hilarious. Unfortunately, neither of my hypotheses were correct.

It’s not difficult to conclude that Mallrats was a low-budget film, but I commend Kevin Smith for the work he did. Word through the grapevine acknowledges Mallrats’ appeal to viewers at film festivals, but it’s box-office success is definitely another story. The film struck me as a very raw project, but it had an all-star line-up of actors and actresses. On the other hand, I may be getting a little carried away with the “all-star” term, but Jeremey London, Jason Lee, and Shannen Doherty are definitely well-known, and perhaps even notorious.

The whole “I lost my girlfriend, but I’m going to win her back” story is very played-out in my opinion, but those stories become much more interesting when Jay and Silent Bob are tossed into the mix. With a plethora of joke topics ranging from marijuana to genitalia and flatulence, Jay and Silent Bob definitely added a more extreme sense of humor to the film. Jay is played by Jason Mewes, and some claim it is hard to distinguish “Jay” the character from “Jason” the person. Silent Bob is played by none other than the writer and director himself, Kevin Smith. Silent Bob is indeed silent throughout the film aside from a few surprisingly insightful comments.

As a whole, I enjoyed Mallrats. However, I cannot confidently say it was a great film. Perhaps my warped sense of humor contributed to my laughter during Mallrats, but I would be careful who I recommend this film to. What I can confidently say is that this film is in no way, shape, or form suitable for children.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

