The Winter Olympics and Why I’m Surprised

It’s safe to say that I know nothing about winter sports, nor do I care. In all honestly, I couldn’t care less about the Winter Olympics. One of the main reasons is probably because I cannot stand snow. However, I am surprised by the success the US is having in these games. I figured we would get absolutely demolished by Canada and other countries where snow is a common feature, but apparently the US is taking over. I did get a chance to watch the curling competitions (which were EPIC), but other than that, I cannot think of a single competition where I even remotely invested any emotion or care. Don’t get me wrong, I love the summer Olympic Games. I just have a petty disdain for snow that I cannot explain. No, I’ve never been forced to eat a yellow snow cone, but I have been on the receiving end of a collision going down the ski slopes. Needless to say, that was NOT fun. Hopefully I will open up more to the winter Olympic games, but I highly doubt it. With that said, I wish all the competitors, especially the ones from the US, all the luck in the world.

  1. Well, keep in mind that a LARGE portion of our country does get plenty of snow. And we have a massive population.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

