Fries or Tots with That?

The fast food industry is ever growing in the United States, and this does little to promote nutrition to the youth of today.

Many fast food chains implement marketing strategies that focus on targeting children, but the marketing strategies cannot be blamed for the ever increasing consumption of fast food. Many parents rely on fast food to feed their children when they feel they are too busy to prepare a home cooked meal. I feel that this is a sad excuse, and it is imperative that we begin to focus on nutrition to improve the overall health of our country.

Don’t get me wrong. Fast food is tasty, and I love my chili cheese tots from Sonic. However, I cannot live by this kind of meal. Also, many fast food chains I have dined in seem to overlook the sanitation requirements. I have been to various fast food restaurants that made me second guess my meal choices. Fast food may satisfy the countries hunger, but the sanitation and nutrition aspects cannot be overlooked.

    • Alli
    • February 25th, 2010

    I agree completley they are targeting chidren! McDonalds used to have the hamburglar and all of those…I don’t know if they still do though. Your picture makes me hungry

    • nikkidw
    • March 4th, 2010

    Alli’s right… fast food targets children. I’ve worked in a few fast food restaurants, like Zaxby’s where we gave “Scooby Snacks” with each kid’s meal and we offered discounts family nights. It’s about establishing a generation of consumers of their product that will continue to inflate their profit.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

